» About Us

Award Nominations

Each year, we honor the volunteers, organizations, programs and members who have done an outstanding job on the court and off to help promote our great sport. Help us nominate worthy award winners by submitting your nominations to Ken Brown at kbrown@indycc.edu.

The deadline for nominations is September 1.



Community Service Excellence

Jason Speegle, Winfield, KS


Distinguished Service

Jan Louderback Krisik, Ark City, KS


Event of the Year

Wichita Tennis Open

Lisa Sutherland, Wichita, KS

Missouri Valley Section Award Recipient


Facility of the Year

Louderback Family Tennis Complex

Ark City, KS

Aaron O’Donnell


10 and Under Tennis Facility

Ralph Wulz Riverside Tennis Center, Wichita, KS

Jeff Clark


USTA Junior Team Tennis Organizer

Aaron O’Donnell, Ark City


High School Coach of the Year

Matt Ysusi

Independence High School


Junior Player of the Year – Female

Anna Riedmiller, Wichita, KS


Junior Player of the Year – Male

Bryson Toubassi, Wichita, KS


Junior Sportsmanship Awards

Boys 12’s  Alex Sherer, Rossville, KS

Boys 14’s  JW Johnson, Pittsburg, KS

Girls 18’s  Morgan Holopirek, Hesston, KS


Tennis Family of the Year

Eric and Rebecca Burr Family, Ark City, KS


Media Excellence

Brian Aufdengarten, Wellington, KS

Missouri Valley Section Award Recipient


Outstanding Contributor to the USTA League Tennis Program

Scott Bagwell, Wichita, KS


Member Organization of the Year

Independence Tennis Association

Ken Brown


Outstanding Community Tennis Association

Topeka Tennis Association

Connie Robertson, President

Missouri Valley Section Award Recipient


Outstanding Junior Tournament

KS Smashers McPherson Youth Progression Tournament

Tyler Brown and Janie Bremyer, McPherson, KS


Outstanding Adult/Senior Tournament

77th Annual Adult Jayhawk Open

Topeka Tennis Association, Connie Robertson, President

Missouri Valley Section Award Recipient


Outstanding Official

Diane Lawrence, Winfield, KS


Recreational Player of the Year – Junior

Allie Little, Andover, KS


Recreational Players of the Year -Adults

Missouri Valley Section Champions

Adult 18 & Over and 40 & Over 7.0 Mixed Doubles Teams

Kathleen Ambrosio and Mike Chico, Captains

Karli Alderson, Topeka

Tom Alexander, Topeka

Mary Martell, Topeka

Mike Norris, Maize

Valerie Peckham, Topeka

Steve Pigg, Topeka

Bo Schmidt, Topeka

Cyd Schmidt, Topeka

Jim Watson, Scranton